Richard Huish College’s ‘Class of 2021’ reunited for a special evening of celebration on the 26th of April as Huish’s annual Prize Giving Ceremony returned after a two-year break due to the Covid-19 pandemic. Before the presentations began, those in attendance enjoyed catching up with their friends and teachers over drinks and canapés.

The highest honour, the Principal’s Award, went to Charlotte Jebson. Charlotte joined Huish from Holyrood Academy and made a huge impact on the college community, not only in terms of her academic excellence but in her commitment to the College values. Charlotte was an Ambassador, regularly supported at college events and represented Huish impressively when speaking to our local MP. She also helped to curate a powerful podcast on mental health and wellbeing.

Huish Staff commented “Charlotte was one of the most positive and pro-active students we have had the pleasure to have at Huish. She was especially thoughtful and supportive during the pandemic in keeping staff spirits up with her emails and offers of help. Charlotte was never afraid to ask us challenging questions and work with us to explore raising student awareness of current issues, such as Black Lives Matter and young peoples’ mental health. If we ever needed help, Charlotte was the first person to spring to mind and never failed to come to our rescue. On top of all of this, Charlotte was an absolutely exceptional student, deservedly achieving 3 A* grades in Law, Psychology and Business and an A in Core Maths. During a very tough 18 months, Charlotte made us remember why we work in education, and she epitomises all that we would wish a Huish student to be”.

he International Student of the Year award was given to Kary Wong, Kary was nominated for managing the everchanging situation with an enormous smile, always supporting her peers and being an enthusiastic addition to Oak House (Huish’s boarding accommodation).

Also, in attendance to commend the students were the Mayor of Taunton Councillor, Sue Lees, Michael Willey from the Wellington Motor Group who presented the Vocational Business prize, Adam Townley from the Taunton Chamber of Commerce who sponsored the A Level Business prize and Jess Henry from Somerset Care who sponsored the Care Values prize.

Huish Principal, Emma Fielding spoke on the Class of 2021’s valiance to get through such a turbulent two years saying “It is a privilege to work with such young vibrant young people and I am phenomenally proud to be able to celebrate just a few of their superb achievements at this event. Our annual awards acknowledge significant academic success but also celebrate the wider development of our young people and the critical contribution that they have made to our college community. The class of 2021 have been an especially impressive group of students in the care and kindness they have shown of each other and the sense of hope, enthusiasm and fun that they have brought to the College. Everyone nominated for an award, has repeatedly demonstrated the values of Huish and, in doing so, are all a representation of everything that we stand for as a college. These dedicated, determined and compassionate students are a credit to their families and have been an inspiration to everyone who has come into contact with them during their time at Huish”.

Class of 2021 Prize winners:

  • Principal’s Award – Charlotte Jebson
  • Principal’s Award International Student of the Year – Kary Wong
  • Level 2 Vocational Prize – Jake Mazumbuko
  • Apprenticeship Prize –  Erika Varga
  • Arthur Belluomo Prize for Spanish – Kes Welch
  • Arthur C Clarke Prize for Innovative Thought (Sponsored by Arthur C Clarke) – Gianpaolo Morelli-Thompson
  • Brabner Cup for Drama & Theatre Studies – Eliza Murdoch
  • Broomhead & Saul Law Prize (Sponsored by Broomhead & Saul Solicitors) – Carolina Gameiro Rebocho
  • Chapman History Prize – Annabelle Baker
  • Cull Music Cup – Claudia Luthra
  • Peter Austin Geology Prize (Sponsored by Rosie Austin) – Joe Hattersley
  • Somerset Care, The Care Values Prize (Sponsored by Somerset Care) – Julie Tolson
  • Taunton Chamber of Commerce Business Award (Sponsored by Taunton Chamber of Commerce) – Tia Collard
  • The Avery Prize for Biology (Sponsored by Peter Avery) – Ben Hollands
  • Warren Cup for Physical Education – Sam New
  • Wellington Motors Vocational Business Prize (Sponsored by Wellington Motor Group) – Jacob Harris
  • Wendy Glover Prize for Science Students (Sponsored by Robert Spooner) – Marisa Jenkins


  • Applied Science Prize – Faith Whittaker
  • Art Prize – Jessica Rowe
  • Chemistry Prize – Lorna Warren
  • Childcare & Education Prize – Libby Holcombe
  • Classical Civilisation Prize – Summer Mockridge
  • Computer Science Prize – Gianpaolo Morelli-Thompson
  • Digital, IT & Computing Prize – Sam Stone
  • Economics Prize – Ali Adams
  • English Language Prize – Maddie Butler
  • English Literature Prize – Izzy Rossiter
  • Environmental Science Prize – Joe Hattersley
  • Extended Project Qualification Prize – Daniella Treagus
  • Geography Prize – Charlie Anne Briggs
  • Graphic Design Prize – Charlie Anne Briggs
  • Health and Social Care Prize – Sophie Butcher
  • Mathematics Prize – Adrian Adamiec
  • Media Prize – Ally McLean
  • Modern Language Prize – Eliza Pelling
  • Music Production Prize – Harry Paynter
  • Philosophy, Religion & Ethics Prize – Lily Mills
  • Photography Prize – Jaime Jeffery
  • Physics Prize – Stephen Perks
  • Politics Prize – Ben Carter
  • Popular Music Prize – Josh Farmer
  • Psychology Prize – Beth Hutchings
  • Public Services Prize – Cameron Homden
  • Sociology Prize – Jess Withers
  • Sport Prize – Lucy Bradbury
  • Sport Prize – Alex Lyons
  • Sport Prize – Briony Smith