The Richard Huish Trust (RHT) is a charitable company limited by guarantee (Company number 9320523). Governance of the Trust falls within the responsibility of Members and the Board of Trustees.

The Members

– have the power to amend the Articles of Association (which sets out the trust’s charitable objects and governance structure)
– have power to appoint a number of Trustees and to remove any or all serving Trustees
– may issue direction to the Trustees to take a specific action
– have power, ultimately, to instigate closure of the Academy Trust.

The current Members are:
Jonathan Langdon
Mary Tighe
Tim Duffen
Edward Gregory, the Corporate Member of the Bath and Wells DBE Trust,

Although Members have ultimate oversight, the company is run by a Board of Trustees. The composition of the Board currently comprises eight directors including the Chief Executive of the Academy Trust.

The Trustees are both charity trustees and company directors and have the legal responsibility for conducting the business of the trust. They may choose to delegate certain powers to committees or to the local governing boards of academies in accordance with a Scheme of Delegated Authority (SoDA).

In particular, Trustees have responsibility to:

– ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
– hold executive leaders to account for the educational performance of the organisation and its pupils, and the performance management of staff
– oversee the financial performance of the organisation and make sure its money is well spent

The Board of Trustees has established a Finance and Audit Committee and an Academic Performance and Quality Committee to oversee key functions.


Director Date of Appointment / Re-AppointmentStatusMembership
Guy Adams30th November 2022DirectorChair of the Board of Directors
Member of the Finance and Audit Committee
John Abbott
Ex-OfficioDirectorChief Executive Officer
Mark Braund30 November 2022DirectorChair of Academic Performance and Quality Committee
Catherine Christie20 February 2022DirectorVice Chair of the Board of Directors
& Chair of the Finance and Audit Committee
Jade Renville30 September 2023DirectorVice Chair of the Finance and Audit Committee,
Director on North Town LGB
Chris Ormrod30 November 2022DirectorMember of the Finance and Audit Committee
TTA Local Governing Body Chair
Clare Greenslade30 September 2025Director
Dan Maycock30 September 2025Director
Victoria Harrison30 September 2025Director
Patrick Flaherty31 December 2025Director